Munster province map – Road map with towns

Waterford, Munster, Ireland

Tipperary, Munster, Ireland

Limerick, Munster, Ireland

Rathmore, Munster, Ireland

Cork, Munster, Ireland

Munster is the southernmost traditional province of Ireland. It is divided into 6 counties. It has an area of 24,675 km2, making it the largest province of Ireland. Its population is around 1.28 million. The province has three large urban centres: Cork, the largest one; Limerick and Waterford. While the most prominent language is English, Munster has regions where Irish is spoken as the first language.

The province is known for its many ancient castles and monasteries as well as its folk music. Although the patron saint of Ireland, St. Patrick spent seven years founding churches in Munster, it is a fifth-century bishop named Ailbe that became their patron saint. The old architecture and beautiful scenery make Munster a very attractive tourist attraction. The cherry on top is the Skellig Michael, a twin-pinnacled crag with a Gaelic monastery founded between the 6th and 8th centuries, that is now a UNESCO World Heritage site.

Munster Ireland