United Kingdom map

London, United Kingdom

The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, commonly known as the United Kingdom (UK for short) or Britain is the Kingdom that was created by a series of Act of Union, which united England, Scotland and Wales with Northern Ireland, a province on the island of Ireland. It is located on the northwest coast of continental Europe, surrounded by the North Sea on south, the English Channel on east, and the Atlantic Ocean from the west. It has population of 65.648.100 which are located on 243.610 km2 of land. The distribution of the population is very uneven, as the highest density is in the area between three towns London, Liverpool and Leeds, while the peripheral areas are sparsely populated.