Republic of Ireland Map

Dublin, Leinster, Ireland

The Republic of Ireland, most commonly known as simply Ireland, is a sovereign nation located in north-western Europe. It occupies over 80% of the island of Ireland and has a surface area of 70,273 km2. Ireland consists of 4 provinces, Ulster, Connaught, Munster and Leinster, where its capital of Dublin is located.

The country has a population of around 4.9 million, of which 40% live in the Greater Dublin Area. The national language is Irish, but English is the dominant language. Ireland is a Christian country, where 85% of the population practises some form of the religion. The patron saint of Ireland is Saint Patrick, who is celebrated globally on the 17th of March. The traditional sports as well as most popular spectator sports are Gaelic football and hurling, but association football is the most practised sport.

Ireland shares a single border with Northern Island, a part of the United Kingdom. Ireland became fully independent from the UK in 1949, 33 years after its proclamation. It is part of the European Union but is not a member of NATO. It is a developed country, and performs well in metrics like healthcare, economic freedom and freedom of press. It used to depend on Agriculture, and was among Europe’s poorest regions, with many Irish migrating after the cycle of famine in the 19th century.

The country consists of a large plain, surrounded by coastal highlands. This gives it a very scenic landscape, with many lakes, bogs and low ridges. The country has a temperate oceanic climate, where temperatures seldom drop below 5 °C in the winter, and rarely go above 26 °C in the summer. Ireland is a lovely tourist destination, with delicious foods and drinks, as well as many historic monuments to visit.